April 25, 2017

  • Looking at Half Price Easter Rabbits

    I curse that chocolate rabbit
    Each Easter he appears in my basket
    In Lent I give up my candy habit
    The rabbit will put me in a casket

    Each Easter he appears in my basket
    Dark and sweet but hollow
    The rabbit will put me in a casket
    I stuff my mouth and swallow

    Dark and sweet but hollow
    A rabbit temptation
    I stuff my mouth and swallow
    Experience sweet satiation

    A rabbit temptation
    I curse that chocolate rabbit
    Experience sweet satiation
    In Lent I give up my candy habit

    This is a Pantoum. The Pantoum is a Malaysian form of interlocking 4 line stanzas. The stanzas are composed of a rhyme scheme of a-b-a-b. The 2nd and 4th lines of the first stanza become the 1st and 3rd lines of the next stanza and this pattern is repeated until the last stanza where the 2nd and 4th lines are the 1st and 3rd lines from the first stanza. Confused yet? It should become clear if you read the poem again and look for the repeated lines.

    I love chocolate. I am also very frugal. The idea of paying $6.00 for a chocolate Easter bunny prevents me from indulging my chocolate addiction. However when the grocery story has all their Easter candy (what's left after the big post holiday sale) on super discount and I can get that $8.00 big rabbit for a paltry $2.00 I have a hard time passing it up. I was very good. I bought a bag of chocolate eggs (a whole pound bag) for $2.00 and passed on the 4 oz. bunny. I mean really. The shape does not make it taste any better. Besides I'll take Hershey chocolate eggs over Palmer chocolate bunnies any day!!

Comments (8)

  • I admire your frugality! I've had to stay away from stores that are advertising their leftover chocolate easter bunnies/eggs!

  • Good choice. Hollow bunnies don't taste that good anyway. Now if they were filled like chocolate truffles that would be a different story.

    • The hollow bunnies are very waxy and I'm a little bit of a chocolate snob... I want high quality chocolate for a low price! hehe! I'm a dreamer.

  • I like to buy chocolate rabbits after Easter too. Then we can eat them during the summer whenever we feel like it. :P

    • I prefer the solid chocolate eggs or pastel M&Ms... higher quality for the same price. The hollow rabbits were always a disappointment since there really wasn't that much chocolate despite the larger size.

  • I agree that high quality for low price is best.
    The bunnies are cute, but you are right that many are low quality waxy chocolate. M&Ms, Hershey's and a few others, even if not pretty, taste better. This year I bought pastel mini M&Ms and some raspberry Ghiradelli squares after the holiday on sale. My problem is that despite all my good intentions to make them last, if they are in the house, they don't last long.

    • It is hard to resist good chocolate. I have most of my chocolate at work as an incentive to injury reporting.... keeps me honest!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *