May 6, 2017

  • Looking to Pack-up and Leave

    So I've made the switch. I'm going to be moving to WordPress. Yep. I packed up all my stuff and now I'm settling in at my new address. For any of you who want to visit (and I do want you to all come for a visit) my address is https://murisopsis.wordpress.com

    I managed to copy all my posts and save them to my external hard drive on my computer. It has taken me 4 days of steady copy/paste to get it all done. The only thing left to do is to is figure out the navigation of WordPress. It has so many more features than xanga. But I'm a semi-tech savvy kind of gal and I've got this. If I can figure out photoshop I can deal with this new blog!

Comments (8)

  • Good luck! I hope I can follow you there. I've tried to sign up for e-mail notices when Michel Fauquet updates, but haven't been able to, so when I think of it I go to his FB and see if he's posted on WordPress lately. Saintvi links her Xanga to FB so I can read hers. I haven't been able to just go to Xanga and read hers for several years now. I just get a notice saying the page is unavailable. That started even before Xanga 2. Crazy technology!

    • Gracia, I think signing up so you can get the email notices is easy on WordPress. I had done it to follow Michel and now that I've got an active site it is almost like the old xanga. I am now kicking myself for not switching sooner. Also there must not be anyone managing xanga because I've had close to 50% of my comments coming from spammers. Part of the 2.0 reboot was supposed to eliminate spammers...

  • I am "following" you there. I may also make the move more completely -- but will have to figure out how to move my old posts to WP. Did you just copy and paste archives by month to the external hard drive?

    • I didn't move my posts to WP. I just saved them in a word document to my computer. I suppose if I wanted to repost them I could by simply cutting and pasting. When xanga (original) announced the END, I spent a lot of time copying to a word document and saving the old posts. Then they allowed the download but it was difficult to figure out how to actually get the down load to my computer...

  • 1. Can we see and comment on your blog even if we don't use we ourselves? I had another friend from Xanga who moved there years ago that I could read but couldn't post unless I signed in with wp, fb, or Twitter. Might have been her own personal settings, or maybe the site's, IDK.

    2. How are you finding the security over there so far? If we write about our families, or other personal stuff, we might want to be able to limit who can read, not to mention the avoidance of trolls!

    Will definitely miss you here. Even on days with no other posts, I usually could read yours.
    Be well, be blessed. We will definitely keep in touch one way or another!

    • 1. I would sign in with my email account and be able to comment. Then I went ahead and got an account.
      2. It is like old xanga. You can post privately so that only people you grant access can see. Or you can have a public blog. I'm still exploring but I think you can make individual posts private while the rest of the internet/WP doesn't see it.

      As for keeping in touch I hope you will consider moving to WP - it is free and it is secure and I like the way it feels. You can "invite" people to follow you and can sign up to follow them - like in the old days. AND THERE IS A LIKE BUTTON!!!!!

  • @Crystalinne: For several years before Xanga 2, I had a WP account "just in case." I was able to read and comment. Since it's free, I actually signed up for an account, but didn't use it to post -- just to reply.

  • Guess I better get on over there. I suppose that means I won't see you at my xanga and I'll miss you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *