May 1, 2017

  • Looking at the End

    It is once again time to renew my Xanga blogging subscription. I have loved Xanga. It has been nearly 10 years since my first post. When I started, it took me a couple months to get into the rhythm of blogging but once I got the hang of the workings of Xanga I was off and running. I would post a blog every single day. Then about 5 years ago I decided to take Sundays off. I still post 6 days a week. At first I thought that I'd run out of things to say. Ha! I have lots to say and still do. Once Xanga died and was resurrected as Xanga 2.0, it wasn't the same. There was a mass exodus of people and this once thriving blog platform became a ghost town. I stayed, mostly because there were still people here that I know and enjoy reading. The first renewal was rocky. Eugenia gave everyone 6 month extensions as they were trying to figure out a way to take the money for the now paid subscriptions. The next year was worse. I had to get a web address to sign up for PayPal and then it took 10 days for them to activate my blog. I was disgusted but thankful that I was once more able to post. My subscription runs out May 10th. I contacted Eugenia but there has been silence. So I've begun copying all my posts since my last save. I have 8 months worth to copy. I will probably have them saved to my computer by next Thursday. In the mean time I'm trying to figure out WordPress.  If I don't here from Eugenia in the next week I will let my Xanga subscription expire. It will be sad and I will no doubt have second thoughts but it is now up to the Xanga team. I thought that when they first restarted, the most important part of building Xanga to its former glory would be an easy way for old Xangans and new bloggers to activate a subscription. Seems to me they have set this venture up to fail.  I will be working to save my posts instead of writing new ones. Once I have a WordPress site I'll let everyone know where to find me... until then "Be excellent to each other."

Comments (18)

  • I hope they get in contact with you!!!

    • I'm not holding my breath. If what Brett says is true then there isn't anyone manning the "phones" and I'm afraid my call for help will be unanswered.

  • My subscription goes for one more month -- I sent a message to Eugenia today to get the process rolling -- hope it works!

    • Did you see BookMark61's comment? If Eugenia is gone thn I don't think there is anyone left to talk to. I'm going to seriously explore some of the other sites... especially since so many are free.

  • This is so sad. It's the death of a whole community. I miss it.

  • Melinda attempted to get mine renewed late last year. Eugenia just did it ... but turns out she's not working with Xanga anymore, as I understand the situation.
    We all need to find some other non-FB platform.

    • Yep. I'm looking at the free WordPress site and trying to figure it out. It might be the way to go - if only it were easier to navigate...

  • @murisopsis: Is WordPress somewhat similar to Xanga? Do you have Joel's Xanga, and can he shed any light on the situation? I've been posting on Xanga and copying to WP, just to make sure I had another option!

    • Xanga is now on wordpress' platform... we pay for what others have for free... however I've never figured out how to find people on WP.

  • Mine e piers June first.
    If you go to Word press, There is a chance you will find some of the people who left Xanga years ago. That could be positive, or negative, depends on who you find, and who finds you.

    • I still go there to read Michel's blog and to read Leah's too. Everyone else is difficult to find. I have those two bookmarked on the computer.

  • Lol. Not sure why it mutated my word 'expires.'

    • I figured it out. I suppose if there is no one to take the money or reactivate the accounts there isn't much sense in continuing... I think I'll take my chances with WP provided I can figure out how to signup!

  • I think I have a lifetime subscription to Xanga. I'd better go look! :)

  • I have a lifetime subscription. Perhaps if no one is manning the shop you won't find yourself expired. :-)

  • @murisopsis: I did find an old email for Joel, and have written him a message -- no response yet, but I'll let you know if I hear anything. I am likely to follow your example, though, and move on!

    • I'm sad to leave but now that I'm there I can't believe it took me so long to switch. Kind of the feeling of trading in an old car (that you love) for a new one and discovering that the new models can cook dinner and do your homework while you drive!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *