May 9, 2017

  • Looking at My New Groove

    Dear Xangans,
    I have relocated to WordPress and I really like it!! It has so many of the features that I missed from Xanga 1.0 that Xanga 2.0 never made happen. You can follow (friend), comment, reply, LIKE, share and more. The security options are wonderful - you can make your blog Private (only you can see your posts), Public (anyone can see), or protected (where you have to approve the person and provide them a password to view - passwords are sent by email). There are lots of themes (I picked a basic one to just get started). Several people have been using emoji in their comments so I know it can be done - I haven't figured out how just yet. You can embed media, insert pictures and link things (and can designate if it opens in a new page or not!). What makes it so much like the old xanga is that I get an email every time someone comments, likes my post, or makes a post if I'm following them! There isn't a "Front Page" but my "Reader" page shows me all the posts of people I'm following and also suggests "Top" blogs and "Featured" posts! I'm really very excited about it - and it is FREE!!

    Please come visit me at https://murisopsis.wordpress.com

    I will try to visit xanga every now and again.

    Until then Love and Peace!
    murisopsis

Comments (4)

  • Thanks for the info. I will look you up. :)

  • Ok, I'm the oddball; I don't like all those extra features. I would rather have someone comment than "like" my page, as I know sometimes that's just too easy and some people do it to every post a friend makes, not really letting them know by written word what it is they like about it. As for reposting... um, no. I don't want people sharing what I wrote with the world. If I wanted that, I'd have my blog open rather than private to friends. As for the email notifications, that is both good and bad to me because I know now some people won't bother going to the actual page, they'll just read their email. '
    Featured posts Could be good and introduce new bloggers, but then it also could become a popularity game like old Xanga did with the top blogs repeatedly being the same "popular" blogs who oftentimes were not like family but just people who wrote sexy or controversial topics to get the most comments and likes. That is Not what I blog, or read blogs for. I'd rather have 5 good people who care about each other than 200 people who click 'like.'

    I am glad your are happy and excited, and I'm sure many at Word Press will think some negative choice words for my honest opinion since it's not theirs. As for me, I will stick with Xanga, and it's little group of die-hards for as long as possible for my posting needs.
    I will try to remember to come over to your site to see the open posts because I Do know and like you.

  • I am glad you are moving to WP. I am with Crystalline when it comes to commenting. I love to receive comments, "liking" is lazy I think, because a person should take time to say why he or she "liked" the post.
    You are too technical and computer savvy Val. I don't know half the things you are talking about. But, I too am an odd ball, I post and that's about it. Don't go to too much trouble finding out what I should do next. :)

  • I tried visiting you at WP and commenting. But I think I needed to login with a username/password that I didn't remember.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *