April 29, 2017

  • Looking Over my Shoulder

    Perhaps in another life I loved better
    Other versions of me were freer
    Even reckless with emotions
    Tempting fate and taking chances
    Rebellious and wanton in my actions
    Yes a wild youth that dared to say yes

    This is an acrostic poem in which the first letter of each line spells out a message. I thought this was a fitting end to National Poetry Month.

    I am a very measured individual. I filter what I say and what I write. I am constrained. I am not free to write about certain topics - either because I've signed an agreement required by my employer or because I'm a private person, or because I don't want to cause controversy. I have labored under these restrictions for so long that I can't imagine speaking or writing without the self censorship. Every so often there is a "survey" on FB asking you to post your answers to questions. The most recent one asked, "What would you tell the 16 year old you if you could go back in time?" I read that and realized that there was nothing I could tell my younger self that I would have listened to. I think I must have been born 40.

Comments (5)

  • I like surveys. We don't get too many of them here on Xanga anymore.
    If I were to answer the question above, I would tell myself to hang in there through the bad times and have faith because I will get through, and things turn out ok in the end. Ok, so I'm not at the end yet, so I don't really know, but I've made This far despite numerous horrendous events in my life, and I still can hold my head up and be thankful for who I am and what I have done. I wouldnt tell my 16 year old self specifics to try to avoid those bad things, because that might alter something else that may end up worse. (Butterfly effect movie comes to mind)

    • The old xanga was full of surveys and questionnaires. It was fun to hear what everyone was saying and all the silly stuff about their favorite TV show or what vegetable they hated...

  • @murisopsis: I enjoyed Monk, and Gilmore Girls. Now I never watch tv unless I'm in a hotel or at a friend's house and they have it on.

    My least favorite vegetable was slimy boiled okra.

    • I never liked okra until I had it freeze dried. Crunchy and I found that I actually like the flavor! I still don't like it cooked to slime! So I understand.

  • I liked your poem and your comments too. You weren't born age 40 but were always a very deep thinker and sort of quiet and thoughtful and above all extremely creative from babyhood on! I still marvel thinking about you (just old enough to sit up) in the travel crib at Mom's and pretending to eat the flowers on the wallpaper in the bedroom!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *