April 26, 2017

  • Looking Broken

    This is a Algirosphaera cucullata, a coccolith found in the North Atlantic Ocean. This is another revised piece to replace the one that was smashed following a tumble down the basement stairs. I think this one came out better than the first. Anyway it is glazed in Royal Blue with Shaner Clear on the center orb.

    Algirosphaera cucullata

    20170422_203054

    Pick up the pieces
    Shattered glass is not mended
    Careful you're not cut

    This is a haiku because I'm being lazy. It is another tough week. I had hope to get lots of little tasks completed but the universe had other plans. So I'm spinning plates and hoping that nothing falls and breaks. I don't have time for a clean up in aisle ten...

Comments (6)

  • Another lovely redo! Keep those plates spinning, Val!

    • Thanks Janet! I'm spinning plates and this week I've added a hoola hoop and some bowling balls to juggle! It will, I've been assured, get better. Until then I will keep things going as best I can...

  • I am glad you are getting back some of your pieces again.
    This one reminds me a bit of a drier ball. Hehe.

    • I never thought of a dryer ball - probably because I don't have one... I'm slowly redoing the broken ones and hopefully the second time around they are even better than the first time!

  • This is a lovely piece and the scanning EM looks so whimsical and delicate. Love the Haiku. So sorry your previous piece broke.

    • Thanks Zakiah! I am winding down National Poetry Month and got a little lazy since I love to do Haiku - it is like breathing!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *