January 24, 2017

  • Peering into the Closet

    One of my goals for this year was to straighten the closets and purge all the items we don't use/wear/want. I made my first pass tackling the shelves in the hall closet. We have two shelves above the clothes rod which hold all our hats, scarves, and gloves. A long time ago I placed some bins on the shelves with everyone's name on them. The intention was to keep the boys' mittens and hats contained and possibly to prevent the wandering of lone gloves. They have since moved out and Sparky and I now have 4 bins each. His are on the top shelf and mine on the lower one. I pulled all the bins down and dumped them. I discovered that I had one bin full of scarves that weren't mine! After a careful sorting, I was able to put all my things in 4 bins and the same for Sparky's stuff. I discovered he has 3 gloves, all left hands, without matches. I also discovered he has 5 intact pairs! He had been moaning before Christmas that he didn't have any gloves. Problem solved. With all the organizing, I discovered that I have only one item that needs to be put aside for the rummage sale - a red bandanna that Sparky got as a door prize at a Geocaching Event.
    20170116_180505

    My next job to tackle will be weeding out the coats in the same closet. I love coats almost as much as hats and jackets. Thankfully they take up so much space that I'm limited in the number I've collected...

Comments (6)

  • You're so organized -- and that's a project that I need to begin as well!

    • I am organized but I tend to get messy over time and have to come back to a sense of order... I also accumulate "stuff" and that tends to clutter things.

  • I cleaned out a few closets this year, but kind of ran out of steam. You did a good job!

  • You evidently take after your mother! The German in me wants...craves to be organized but then the Irish in me is less demanding about it. Hence the periodic spells of neatness followed my some messiness after accumulating "stuff"...
    But my hinged clothes pins on hangers are great for keeping my pairs of gloves together and organized. Sparky should make some and patent them....very handy!

    • I've always been organized... I'll suggest the clothes pin idea to him but I think it has already been done.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *