April 18, 2017

  • Looking at Pies

    A pie they chant is what they want to eat
    A crust is made and laid in dish so deep
    The fruit is mixed with spice and sugar sweet
    The crust is crimped the fruit to hold and keep
    Keep vigil by the oven take a seat

    This is the last of the cinquians - a Sicilian version written in iambic pentameter with a rhyme scheme of a-b-a-b-a. I really don't like the metered verses - well, to write anyway.

    As is the custom we had pie for dessert at Easter. We are pie people. There are folks who spend way too much time baking cakes and decorating them to look like lambs and Easter bunnies. They slather them with icing and pat on colored coconut shavings or worse cover them in fondant icing and make them look like dioramas of Easter egg hunts. I find those cakes to be inedible. The icing and decorations are too sweet. The food dye and colorants they use have a particularly nasty taste. We will pass up the cake and vote for pie every time! So the pies this year were a pineapple mango pie, a sweet potato pie, and a lemon macaroon pie. All were very delicious and all of them were pretty much consumed.

    This is the pineapple mango pie. I decided that since I couldn't find any rhubarb I'd have to improvise. My secret ingredient? Cardamom - just a scant 1/4th teaspoon was enough to give it a little something exotic. It is now only a memory. Because the pie had a lot of moisture I took a before photo thinking it might bubble over and obscure the design on the top. I got lucky as you can see in the second photo!
    20170416_074902

    20170416_125855

Comments (12)

  • Your pie looks so good.

    I love sweet potato pie and rhubarb as well. None of which I am supposed to consume of course.

    When the kids were little I'd make that bunny pie with the paper ears. I never heard of fondant in those years and now can't remember what kind of icing. I used to do one with the double boiler I think was called 7 minute. lol

    • I think my favorite pie is pumpkin but the pineapple mango pie was very very good - not too sweet and not too tart. My sister in law's sweet potato pie is so delicious - we are always torn do we eat it with the meal as a vegetable or as a dessert?

  • Love the pie crust! It looks so yummy and creative. :)

  • The pie looks and sounds good. I admit, I do like moist cakes sometimes too though, especially chocolate, or spice; just a wee slice. My mother used to mix her own frosting from scratch.

    • I rarely eat cake and most of the time I prefer a cookie or a pie/pastry. Most cakes are either too sweet or too dry. But mostly I don't like the frosting. I end up scraping it off...

  • That pie looks delicious, and it came out beautifully!!! In years gone by, when I was cooking for a husband and a colleague, I made lots of pies and cakes -- I seldom eat either these days, but I love the looks of this pie!

    • I was very happy with the result of this effort. I forgot to put my pie shield on at first and I was afraid my crust might burn but the edges were just right. I used to bake more often when the boys were at home but with just the 2 of us I only bake on holidays...

  • Great pie pictures. Love the cross in the middle. I just got home from Seattle last night. Went to St. Somebody's Catholic Church with family Easter Sun. morning. Then went to a niece's house for a large lunch, and Easter egg hunt for the kids.

    • Glad you are back! Sounds like a great trip!! But no matter how much fun - it is always good to get back to your own bed...

  • Pineapple mango sounds quiiiite tasty!

    • It was very tasty! I just baked a pear pie last night that we had for diner tonight. It was a crustless pie sort of a custard thing and was very good. I think if I make it again I'll try to add a little more flour to thicken it. It was a little runny...

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *