April 14, 2017

  • Looking Quiet

    Bittersweet is the last release
    When suffering stops and breath does cease
    Divine embrace we rush to find
    Perfected joy and peace of mind
    Carried to God our prayers increase

    Today is Good Friday. For many it is nothing more than the start of the spring sales quarter and possibly a day off work. For the Christian community it is a day of sorrow and feeling the weight and gravity of Jesus' sacrifice to bring us eternal salvation. I'm sure there are plenty of people who do not agree with my characterization of this day - and even more who do not identify with Christianity. I am not expecting your approval or agreement. I do however require your respect of my beliefs. I'm going to invoke "Thumper's Rule" which is "If you can't say something nice, don't say nothing at all."

    The above is a Quintella. A Spanish form of cinquain (poem or stanza of 5 lines). It can have a variety of rhyme schemes as long as there are no more than 2 consecutive rhymed lines and it is written in iambic tetrameter (blech squared). I have embarked on the cinquain boat which has 6 different (recognized) forms which I will explore in the coming week. I always thought that I disliked the sestina but I'm rethinking that in light of iambic pentameter/iambic tetrameter etc...

Comments (4)

  • Since you mentioned Thumper, I read that line hearing his voice. :)

    Last night at the gym, a late night talk show was on and they were interviewing kids in the street about the meaning of Easter, and follow up questions regarding Jesus. I was pleased to hear some of the youngsters get it right. There were others of course who were a bit unsure of the detail, but on the right train of thought like the one who said "bad guys killed him". Then there were those who obviously had grown up in non Christian homes who knew only of eggs and bunnies. It is sweet to hear kids' thoughts.

    Have a blessed weekend. Praise Jesus for his sacrifice.

    • At work we invoke Thumper's Rule all the time. It saves people from saying things they might regret later... Too many children are growing up in a "me first" environment. So sad but then there are those who give me hope...

  • Thumpers rule came out of my Grandma's mouth long before there was a Thumper. :-)

    • I believe it! It has been a parental rule for as long as there have been parents. In the movie Bambi, Thumper the bunny recites the rule at the insistence of his mother and quotes his father as the source of the "rule". The name Thumper's rule stuck in the collective psyche.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *