March 24, 2017

  • Looking into the Dressing Room

    Gather clothing to see what fits
    Reject spandex and clinging knits
    This place becomes my fashion’s tomb
    Nothing more than a dressing room

    A small closet without a chair
    Try on clothes and get static hair
    Disappointment adds to the gloom
    Nothing more than a dressing room

    The door won’t latch as I undress
    Nothing fits there won’t be success
    Hang up clothes and my hunt resume
    Nothing more than a dressing room

    Tiny cubicle contained hope
    Thirty outfits and all were “nope”
    Failed shopping self-esteem consume
    Nothing more than a dressing room

    We are coming up to the warm time of the year. All the stores are advertising their new spring clothes. I freely admit that I shop second hand. At least I know that the clothes will hold up - they have survived to make it to the thrift store after all. I do enjoy shopping for clothes but I don't always like trying them on. There are a couple stores that have horrible dressing rooms. K-Mart, Sears, Penney's, and Target are pretty sad. Mostly because the rooms are so small that there is no room for a chair. They make my closet at home look spacious. You have to hang your coat and purse over the door or put them on the floor. Some have an awkward bench built in that doesn't help. Even though I'm not a fan of those dressing rooms I refuse to use others. Francesca's dressing rooms have a weak curtain. It doesn't cover the opening completely. No way on the planet am I trying anything on there. The same for Tiger Imports. The newly remodeled Goodwill stores are nice because they have finally made the dressing rooms bigger! There are a couple of stores that get kudos for their dressing rooms. Kohl's has big rooms with a chair and multiple hooks and rods for all the things you want to try on. Christopher & Banks has great dressing rooms too but I've never wanted to pay that much for a jacket.

    This is my Winter Scavenger Hunt 2017 using prompts #22 - Discuss a closet, #23 - Use a dressing room. I wrote the poem as a kyrielle. A kyrielle is a 4 stanza poem with 4 lines per stanza and 8 syllables per line. The last line of the first stanza is the refrain. The rhyme scheme is aabB, ccbB, ddbB, eebB.

Comments (12)

  • Love the poem! I will have to suck it up and go look for sleeveless tops. I always said I wouldn't wear them with my thin flabby arms, but this is TX it gets hot here! Making all this harder is the need to use the cart. They leave no room for those things!

    • I have a few of the sleeveless tops but it has to be unbearably hot for me to wear one of them. I'm thrilled you enjoyed this poem! I liked Janet's idea of circumventing the dressing room issue by ordering online and then returning what doesn't fit. It would be such a hassle for me but if I was retired I think there would be a bigger attraction!

  • Trying on clothes is definitely Not my favorite thing to do! I especially hate trying on bras or bathing suits. The styles I like don't look good on me anymore. Sigh.
    The poem is great.

    • So happy you liked this poem! Trying on bathing suits is an immediate downer. I don't go bathing suit shopping unless I absolutely have to and then I take along a friend who will assist in keeping depression at bay!!

  • I do a lot of shopping from catalogs -- that way I try everything on at home, and can send them back if they don't fit or I don't like them. It does cost a little more, but it solves all manner of issues!

    • A great idea but I just don't have time to mess with the sending back part. Maybe once I retire it will be more attractive! The idea of being able to try things on in the privacy of my own room and stand in front of a mirror that isn't goofy sounds like a dream come true!

  • Shopping second hand is my favorite place to shop. :)

    • Haha! All the smart people eventually figure that out! I couldn't dress as well if I had to buy everything at full price in the stores. I've had people compliment me on a jacket and ooh and aah about it being a popular designer's creation. I just let them think I'm rolling in the $$ when in reality I bought it at Goodwill on half price day for $2.50!!

  • Cute poem and I agree. Having my gigantic closet/dressing room has spoiled me! Every woman should be so lucky to have one as large as mine is!

    • Your closet is an anomaly. It probably should have been the bedroom... But then where would you put all your stuff?! hehehe!

  • I don't like to put my purse on the floor, so all bathrooms and dressing rooms should have hooks, or counters, and dressing rooms should have a mirror, and chairs or benches to see how short a skirt or shorts get with sitting, as well as to see if jeans or slacks remain comfortable rather than squish in the tummy while gapping in the back upon sitting.

    • A chair is a necessity. Too bad so many stores fail to put one in. I've had times when a chair is really handy as I try on pants (especially the skinny leg jeans).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment