January 21, 2017

  • Looking Confidential

    There is a burden that accompanies the requirement to keep a secret. As a holder of secrets most of the time it is an easy thing. I just don't talk about it. Other times it weighs on my heart. Especially when the secret means withholding information that would benefit another in making better decisions, avoiding conflict, or puts me in an ethical conundrum. It is kind of what a Priest must feel after hearing a confession regarding a heinous crime. They are bound by the inviolable rules of the confessional and at the same time they must feel the pull to inform the authorities. A tough spot to be in. I have been told so many secrets that my head just might explode. I'm hoping that some of the secrets are revealed in time and my gag order is lifted...

    Push the cork in tight
    Hold back speech with all your might
    Lock the vault day and night
    Secrets hidden away from light
    Tempted your tongue you bite
    Hold truth out of sight
    The secret keepers plight

    Keeping secrets is stressful. Sigh. I wish I didn't have so many to keep. And yet it is nice to know that so much trust has been given to me...

Comments (6)

  • Sometimes it's hard not to say things you know, which another person might not. Good news, I have no secrets to tell you.

    • I try not to have secrets. Unfortunately others feel the need to make me their "secret keeper". It is quite the burden to carry...

  • You can spill your secrets to me, since I most likely don't know anyone and have no reason to repeat secrets about people I don't know.

    • Thanks. I think the secrets will continue to mount as the intrigue level increases at work. Too many people are spilling their secrets to me... I guess when you are Switzerland all the combatants want you to hold their valuables....

  • And I am just a phone call away when the burden needs to be shared and you feel a need for some maternal comfort....a "mommy moment"....better than a pill.

    • I'm blessed with an abundance of equilibrium - no medication needed. However I think there are several at work who have gone off their meds!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *