December 26, 2016

  • Looking at the Road

    As you read this Sparky and I are already several hours on the road. The plan is to leave at 4:00 AM and drive straight through to Atlanta, Georgia. I had the suitcases packed before Christmas and we loaded the car Christmas day after all the festivities had died down. This will be the first trip to visit my youngest sister in about 5 years. I had hoped it would be a sort of "family reunion" as my mother had suggested. When we started making plans, it was quickly discovered that we were the only ones who were going to be able to make it! Instead it will be a smaller more intimate gathering. We will get to visit with my niece and nephew. The nephew has a very serious girlfriend who we will meet for the first time. After we celebrate Christmas, we will all pack up and drive to the Tiki House at Pensacola Beach for the rest of the week! I'm excited on several fronts. First I will get to see the Tiki House. Second I will be able to visit with my sister and her family, and then as a bonus I will be able to visit with Crystalline!!

    However I'm getting ahead of myself. We are looking at an eleven hour drive today. It is cold and the weather forecast is for snow. That could mean some slower going. If we can get through Tennessee without running into icy roads we'll be basically home free! Other than potty stops and the necessary refueling stops, we are planning on driving straight through. I packed a lunch that we can eat in the car of leftovers from yesterday's feast. We have our pillows and a couple blankets because we are from northern Indiana and we are prepared. (It is recommended that you carry water, snacks, blankets and flares in addition to your regular emergency kit for the winter. It comes in handy if you are stranded in a snow bank at night.) Anyway, we are also carrying gifts for everyone. I'm pretty sure my sister is excited that I will be delivering her Christmas from last year. She knows what it is already. I'm pretty sure I can't top this gift - ever. It is that good!

Comments (12)

  • You are already a couple hours on the road. I pray all goes smoothly with your drive, and that you enjoy this post Christmas holiday with family. The weather here has been beautiful so it will be a great reprieve from the northern cold and flu. Today I will be checking out of a condo I rented on Okaloosa island where people were swimming and paddle boarding in the Gulf over the weekend, but I'll still be just a hop skip and jump from where you will be staying, and look forward to seeing the two of you again. You have my number, and though my phone died Christmas Eve, I plan to fix that today before you ever get down to Florida. Again, safe journeys, and I will see you soon. Ps, I hope you have someone up north gathering your mail, or that you put a hold on it, because the PO said my package to you was due to arrive Tues (first day they re-open).

    • No worries, we have the boys watching the house and the paper and mail are being handled. The trip was long but it is beautiful here. Watched the sunset from the beach last night.

  • Hope you are now settled at your destination. Our weather is again in the 70's so out with shorts again. :-)

  • When I woke up this morning, you were already on the road for six-and-a-half hours. I think I got nine hours of sleep; more than I've had in a very long time. We had a great time with you guys last night. Maybe next year we can celebrate a warm, green Mele Kalikimaka together! Safe travels and have fun with your family.

    • Yes! Hawaii celebrations would be wonderful. How can we make that happen? BTW it is supposed to get to 80 today - it is already 71 and it is only 9:30 AM!!

  • I hope you're safely there! And I hope the trip was safe. I drove about 4 hours, the first half through heavy rain (yes, we actually had about 2 inches of rain two days before Christmas!)Have a great time visiting in Florida!

    • Congratulations on the rain! The trip was fine except for the traffic around Chattanooga and Cartersville - stop and go at 20 mph. Set our arrival time back an hour and a half. Arrived tired and hungry but safe! Having a great time!

  • looooong day on the road ~ happy travels!

  • So, I know I'm reading your posts backwards but I hope all is well. That seems like a heck of a car ride. Be safe!

    • We started in dense fog moved to spitting rain and finally found the sun! Then just as we got to Atlanta the fog started to roll in. All was good - even the traffic slow downs were bearable. We both slept well!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *