April 7, 2016

  • Looking Muddy

    I want to go geocaching. To explore the wild parts of my backyard and beyond, and to travel a distance and be surprised is what I crave. A neighbor expounded on her dislike for geocaching unbeknownst that I was "one of those people". She said that it wasn't normal to want to walk around in the woods! I guess since we have divorced ourselves from nature that is the standard attitude. I on the other hand, have decided to trek through what nature is left. It puts things in perspective. And puts you in touch with the changing seasons and with the earth in a most intimate way.

    Leaden steps drag down
    Heavy boots caked with spring mud
    Avoiding earthworms

    Geocaching makes the exploration of this planet more possible - at least for me. I need to have a goal and finding that little hidden treasure box or coil of paper is just the motivation required. It takes me out of my comfort zone. When I'm geocaching I can channel the competitiveness and at least temporarily forget that I'm lost in the woods or sinking in a swamp or that there are hordes of swarming mosquitoes. I suddenly discover the beauty of wet bark, the texture of river water, the rainbow of rock compressed in layers. It amazes me that I had to travel to every state in the continental USA to realize that the beauty of this land is right under my feet.

    Mud sticks to the sole
    Lifts debris from the forest floor
    Reveals spring’s rebirth

    The above is a Haibun. The Haibun is prose and haiku interspersed and can be on any topic but travel is a fairly traditional one. Thus I have used this to complete another of the NPM writing prompts #23 - A travel poem.

Comments (16)

  • I admire your love of this activity.

    Nice short to the point poems.

    My nature interest is birds--imposed on me due to fartherly love of a perfect daughter.

    Then there are the sandy beaches of Waikiki where many treasures can be found on the beach.

    • Thanks Frank. The haiku makes you choose your words carefully. I'm pretty sure you can "wax poetical" on the beauty of Hawaii.

  • It's umbrella weather here now -- a series of storms coming from all directions -- rain coming north today, and from the north in a couple of days. Aa tame foray to a museum 1/2-way to San Diego postponed till the sun comes out again!

    • It was raining when I walked into work this morning and snowing when I left. By the time I got home it was sending little ice balls from the sky. I am really hoping this weather is just spring having a stomach flu and soon all will gt back to normal - with some warm weather and a little sunshine!

  • I like hiking in the woods. The smells remind me of New England.

  • Haha! I will remind you of the beauty of wet bark the next time you follow me into a swamp.

    • OK - when do you want to go?? I've been looking at the weather forecast and it now looks like Tuesday will be dry. Want to try again??

  • I like the outdoors too, but not in this weather. Brrr!

    • I'm not a complete wimp but I really prefer to stay warm and dry - especially dry. You can handle a little cold but if you are wet then it just becomes miserable...

  • @murisopsis: Sure - I'm game! If it's raining (or snowing), we can go out to lunch and talk about GeoWoodstock.

    • It's a plan and a date! I have an ASSE meeting in the morning at 7:30 AM and I should be done there by 9:00 AM. I'll leave from there and probably be at your house by 9:30ish. Sen me a list of caches you want to try to get and I'll be loaded and ready to go!!

  • Sad are they who feel set apart from the senses experienced in nature- even to the extent of a city park. You are wise to regard the natural world as an "Rx".

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment