April 24, 2014

  • Waiting for Kibble to Appear

    Chained to a tree or curled by the fire
    Fed from a bowl or on a silver dish
    We hold it the same; it is a dog’s life

    At a master’s beck and call all his life
    Will heed the command to walk through fire
    The dog trusts food will appear in his dish

    Don't repay loyalty with sand in his dish
    Don't discard his love at the end of life
    Honor service in cremation’s fire

    Life has fire if kibble’s in the dish

    Today's poem for NPM is a Tritina using the Scavenger Hunt prompt #24 - kibble. A Tritina is the poor cousin of the Sestina. It is like writing half a Sestina - only 3 stanzas instead of 6 and only 3 lines per stanza instead 6. The ending couplet it is a single line. The last word of each line in the first stanza is repeated in a different order in the following stanzas. The last line to close the poem must contain all three ending words. The only other little rule is that the lines should be written in either tetrameter or pentameter.

    I have had to face the fact that Ranger will not live forever. The inevitable is approaching. He is 14. He won't live too much longer. We have discussed what we will do when he is no longer able to enjoy quality of life. There are some people who refuse to let go and I've seen animals suffer. We have decided that when he doesn't get excited by the magical appearance of kibble in his bowl it will be time. He is such a food oriented dog that when he loses interest in dinner and breakfast we will know it is time...

Comments (20)

  • There is an old saying, "Lock your wife and dog in the trunk of the car. After 1/2 an hour, open the trunk and guess which one will be happy to see you."
    I've never tried it, but I don't have to, to be fairly certain how it would turn out.

    • Yeah, I think the result would be lethal - for either the dog, the wife or you... Good thing you haven't tried it.

  • you have to go by the quality of life and everyone has to make up their own mind when it's time to leave this world.
    It's really hard on us but I always say,"think of what a good life they had."

  • I think I might not have won but who knows. LOL

    thanks for the nice comment regarding my mom and siblings.

  • Yes, it will be time....Our Savannah has been gone 3 years now...We still miss her....

    She was also 14 years old, almost 15, when she quit eating....We took her to the Vet, and tests showed that she had cancer, and was in a lot of pain....We just couldn't bare to see her that way.....

    Ranger knows he is loved.....And...That could be the reason he decides to stay a little while longer.....

    • I am hoping he goes quickly and peacefully - but if I have to step in and make the decision I will... He knows we love him.

  • When Tia was near the end, at age 16, we gave her a final week of anything in her bowl that she might eat, including hotdogs, hamburgers, and ice cream. She actually put on a little weight that week.

    • I can imagine that Ranger would think he had already died and gone to heaven! Licking out a yogurt cup is such a treat - a cup with yogurt still in it would make him very happy!!

  • Guess what? I just wrote a Tritina for tomorrow! I have a very classy poem about wool socks.

    • How am I not surprised that the wool socks prompt inspired you?? I'm thrilled that you have stuck with the NPM - only a few more days!!

  • Your beautiful heart-felt poem brought tears to my eyes...thinking back over my life to all my furry-friends...it is always heartbreaking when it's time for them to go.

    I continue to pray for Ranger. I want him to go peacefully and without pain when it's time for him to go.

    Quality of life is so important for all living creations. :-)

    Kibble-HUGS!!! :-)

  • We feel the same way about our dog--we will not take unusual steps to keep him alive--he will be mercifully euthanized by a Vet.

    • That is such a better way than trying to hang on just because we don't want to let go (for our sake instead of theirs).

  • I am laughing at Aloysius Son (John's) comment above about putting the wife and the dog in the trunk of the car.
    Great poem Val.

    • Thanks! I'm so happy you liked it! As usual John's comments make reading the comments almost as fun as reading the post!

  • This poem (& the further explanation) me right here --> &heart; You are not only an excellent poet, teacher, & encourager ... but a person who values life & love.

    • Thanks! I'm tickled that this one had an emotional impact! I too often think my poem are too cerebral and don't have the emotional punch that I want them to have...

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment